Extra-Terrestrial

My first repeating gigs were with Eddie, or E.T. We met while working at a local grocery store, and once I mentioned I was a filmmaker he jumped on the opportunity and asked if I would help him make a music video.

As we talked and he shared his tracks with me, Eddie asked how much I would charge to produce. I told him I would do the project for the experience alone – the validation was more than enough payment. This piece of magic was put together a couple weeks later:

In a few more months, we collaborated on a second video:

I had a great time making these pieces and hanging out with Eddie and his crew. We were getting blazed, having fun, and making art together. Unfortunately, things never seemed to be going anywhere fast. Sometimes big plans never escape the dank rooms they’re made in.

After working at the grocery store for just over a year, I was off to full time employment in a soul-sucking desk job for the next four years. There’s a third, unfinished music video for E.T. floating around my old iMac. I’ve kept in touch with Eddie, and we try to get together at least once a year to catch up when we aren’t serendipitously running into each other all over town.

NEXT TIME: My Complete Unfinished Works

Leave a comment